Wells County Commissioners

Regular Session 1-7-2019

The Wells County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday January 7, 2019 at 9:00AM in the Commissioner's Room of the Wells County Carnegie Annex, Bluffton, IN. Those in attendance were Commissioners, Blake Gerber, Kevin Woodward and Tamara Robbins. Also in attendance were County Attorney, Roy Johnson and County Auditor, Lisa McCormick.

Re-organization of Board: Auditor Lisa McCormick asked for a nomination for President of the Board of Commissioner for 2019. Motion made by Tammy Robbins, seconded by Kevin Woodward to appoint Commissioner Blake Gerber as President of the Board. Motion carried 2-0-1, Blake abstained from voting. Motion was made by Tamara Robbins, seconded by Blake Gerber to appoint Kevin Woodward as vice-president of the board. Motion carried 3-0.

Kevin Woodward motioned and Tamara Robbins seconded to retain Attorney, Roy Johnson, County Highway Engineer, Nate Rumschlag and Highway Supervisor, Josh Cotton in their current positions. Motion carried 3-0.

<u>Minutes:</u> Motion made by Tamara Robbins, seconded by Kevin Woodward to approve the minutes from December 17, 2018 regular session. Motion carried 3-0.

<u>Payroll And Claims:</u> Motion made by Tamara Robbins, seconded by Kevin Woodward to approve Payroll #27 in the amount of \$222,572.13 and 226 claims totaling \$559,810.89. Motion carried 3-0.

Wells County Sheriff: Sheriff Holliday reported 96 inmates, 7 are DOC and 16 are F6 DOC.

Wells County Highway Supervisor: Josh Cotton's recommendation to the commissioners was to accept all 4 stone bids. Motion made by Kevin Woodward, seconded by Tamara Robbins to accept all stone bids. Motion carried 3-0. Grading of gravel roads and Brush removal are the main focus right now with the weather conditions. Josh discussed purchasing two 2020 International dump trucks from Selking in Decatur with trade. The total for the two trucks with trade is \$300,397.12. The Highway department has trouble getting service through the other vendor. Tamara Robbins motioned and Blake Gerber seconded to accept the Highway Supervisors recommendation and purchase from Selking. Motion carried 2-0-1, Kevin Woodward abstained. Road conversions for 2019 will be 500W, Jeff Road to 1200S; 1000N, Marzane Road to 300W; and 500W, 1100N to south of 1200N. Tamara Robbins motioned and Kevin Woodward seconded to accept Cottons proposal for Road Conversions. Motion carried 3-0.

<u>Highway Engineer:</u> Nate Rumschlag informed the commissioners that the Federal Aid presentation to INDOT will be January 15th. Bridge 66 will be closed the duration of the current week to do replacement and corrective work on the bridge. Bid opening is Thursday, January 10th for Hoosier Highway and CR 100W curve correction and Bridge 118 Replacement. Community Crossing Matching Grant Application opens January 7th through February 1st, Rumschlag is finalizing the application.

<u>Board Appointments:</u> Motion made by Tamara Robbins, seconded by Kevin Woodward to re-appoint Blake Gerber to the Chamber of Commerce and Economic Developments Boards, Tamara Robbins to the EMA Advisory Board, Kevin Woodward to the EMS Board and Sheriff Scott Holliday to the District 3

Planning Council Board. Sick Bank Committee members; Susie Reinhard, Marlene Hoag & Diana Collins were retained in those positions. Motion carried 3-0.

<u>Nepotism Policy:</u> Commissioners signed the Annual Certification of Elected Officials on Compliance with County Contract Disclosure Policy. Kevin Woodward motioned and Tamara Robbins seconded to sign the Nepotism policy. Motion carried 3-0.

Recess: Kevin Woodward motioned and Tamara Robbins seconded to recess and meet as the Board of Finance to hear the 2019 Investment Policy updates from Treasurer Kathy Peeper. Motion carried 3-0.

Reconvened: Kevin Woodward motioned and Tamara Robbins seconded to reconvene. Motion carried 3-0. Tamara Robbins motioned and Kevin Woodward seconded to accept and sign the Wells County Treasurer Investment Policy (Misc. 2019-01). Motion carried 3-0.

Adjourned: Wells County Commissioners adjourned at 9:37AM

Wells County Commissioners	
President, Blake Gerber	Vice President, Kevin Woodward
Tamara Robbins	
Attest: Lisa McCormick, Wells County Auditor	