WELLS COUNTY COUNCIL

REGULAR SESSION December 21, 2023

Wells County Council met in regular session December 21, 2023, at 1:30PM in the Wells County Carnegie Annex, 223 W Washington St., Bluffton, IN. Present at the meeting were: Seth Whicker, Vicki Andrews, Todd Mahnensmith, Steve Huggins, Brandon Harnish, Scott Elzey and Auditor Lisa McCormick. Brian Lambert was absent.

<u>Minutes</u>: A motion was made by Scott Elzey, seconded by Vicki Andrews to approve the minutes from December 5, 2023, meeting. Motion carried 6-0.

Transfers: A motion was made by Scott Elzey, seconded by Vicki Andrews to approve the transfers in the General Fund for the Coroner, Commissioners, and the IT Department, also the transfers in the Highway Administration Fund, the Health Fund, and 20.205 County Home Rd – CR450E Fund. Motion carried 6-0.

Amended 2024 Salary Ordinance: An amended 2024 Salary Ordinance was presented to County Council with changes in 3 health department wage amounts. The proposed ordinance increased base wages on the matrix for the Deputy Administrator to \$51,500, Environmental Sanitarian Septic to \$56,000, and Public Health Nurse to \$56,000. The grant administrator stipend was eliminated as well as the Environmental Sanitarian Food position from the Salary Ordinance. A motion made by Steve Huggins, seconded by Brandon Harnish to approve the amended 2024 Salary Ordinance 2023-22. Motion carried 6-0.

2024 Board Appointments: A motion was made by Vicki Andrews, seconded by Brandon Harnish to reappoint Tony Garton to the Alcoholic Beverage Commission for an annual appointment. Motion carried 6-0. A motion was made by Scott Elzey, seconded by Todd Mahnensmith to re-appoint Jerome Markley with Vicki Andrews as the alternate to the Area Plan Commission for an annual appointment. Motion carried 6-0. A motion was made by Brandon Harnish, seconded by Steve Huggins to appoint Bev Grzych to the Property Tax Board of Appeals for an annual appointment. Motion 2-4 did not carry, Seth Whicker, Todd Mahnensmith, Scott Elzey and Vicki Andrews voted no. A motion was made by Todd Mahnensmith, seconded by Vicki Andrews to re-appoint Judy Affolder to the Property Tax Board of Appeals for an annual appointment. Motion carried 4-2, Brandon Harnish and Steve Huggins voted no. A motion was made by Steve Huggins, seconded by Brandon Harnish to re-appoint Leon Berning to the Regional Sewer District for a 4-year appointment. Motion carried 6-0. A motion was made by Brandon Harnish, seconded by Todd Mahnensmith to re-appoint Scott Elzey to the Tourism Commission for a 2year appointment. Motion carried 6-0. A motion was made by Scott Elzey, seconded by Brandon Harnish to re-appoint Zane Herr to the Tourism Commission for a 2-year appointment. Motion carried 6-0. A motion was made by Todd Mahnensmith, seconded by Steve Huggins to re-appoint Scott Elzey to the Bluffton NOW board, Vicki Andrews to the Chamber of Commerce Board, Seth Whicker to the E911 Advisory board, Steve Huggins to the Economic Development Board, Todd Mahnensmith to the EMA Advisory Board and the EMS Board, Vicki Andrews to the Solid Waste District board, appoint Brian Lambert to the Wells County Trails board, and to appoint Brandon Harnish to the Community Corrections Advisory Board. Motion carried 6-0.

Adjourned: 2:02 PM, the motion was made by Steve Huggins, seconded by Scott Elzey to adjourn.

WELLS COUNTY COUNCIL

President

Vice President

Attest: Lisa McCormick, Wells County Auditor

_