The residents of Wells County face the threat of disasters and emergencies. Recognizing this threat, Wells County's Response and Support Communities have come together to maintain the overall health, safety, and general welfare of its citizens.


223 W. Washington Suite 101
Bluffton, IN 46714

(260) 824-6433

(260) 824-6420



Rick Velasquez

Deputy Director

Emergency Management



Office Hours:

Monday  8:00 a.m - 12:00 p.m

Tuesday 8:00 a.m - 12:00 p.m

Wednesday 8:00 a.m - 12:00 p.m

Thursday 8:00 a.m - 12:00 p.m

Friday - CLOSED

Winter Weather


Save lives and protect property from the consequences of all types of disasters.


Legal Notice

Facilities that manufactures, store or use hazardous chemicals. If your company manufactures, stores or uses any chemical requiring a material safety data sheet (MSDA) under the OSHA hazard communication standard in a quantity greater than 10,000 pounds.


Your company manufactures, uses or stores any chemical designated by the EPA as an extremely hazardous substance in a quantity equal to or greater than its listed threshold planning quantity (1-500 pounds).

SARA Title III requires facilities to submit Tier II forms annually by March 1. Further information may be obtained by contacting the Wells County Local Emergency Planning Committee at either of the below listed numbers.

LEPC Meeting dates for 2014 are 2/12, 4/09, 6/11,  8/13, 10/08 and 12/10. Meeting starts at 8:00am

Wells County Annex Bldg Council Room

Right-To-Know Act

The Community Right-to-Know Act requires facilities to report the identity and location of hazardous chemicals.

The Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA) Title III plan of 1986 states that accurate information and timely notification of a hazardous materials emergency is critical for an effective emergency response operation.
Section 304 of SARA Title III requires the immediate notification of the Community Emergency Coordinator and IDEM when a release of an extremely hazardous substance (EHS) or hazardous chemical in a quantity above the Reportable Quantity (RQ) occurs.



The Local Emergency Planning Committee (L.E.P.C.) consists of representatives from elected and local officials, law enforcement, emergency management, fire, first-aid, health, local environmental and transportation agencies, hospital, broadcast and media, community groups and industry.


EOC Communication

Website under construction

Wayne Grove
Emergency Management Agency

Local Emergency Planning Committee




Advisory Council

County Council Board President
James VanWinkle

Scott Mossburg

Mayor of the City
Ted Ellis

Representative of the Fire Chiefs
Chris Broderick

Wells County EMS
Rick Piepenbrink

Sheriff’s Office
Monte Fisher

Wells Co. Health Dept.

Marlene Hoag

Representative of Small Towns
Jim Beckstein

Outlined in Indiana Code 10-4-1-10 page 43 of 81.

Fire Departments Contact Info

 (260) 824-6050

Police Department Contact Info

 (260) 824-3320

EMS Department Contact Info: (260) 827-0031

© Copyright, Wells County Indiana. All Rights Reserved.
Web Consulting by Claghorn Designs